AIA North Carolina Chapter Awards

Chapter Awards

F. Carter WilliamsF. Carter Williams Gold Medal

This is the highest honor presented by the Chapter to a member of AIA North Carolina.  It is awarded to an individual in recognition of a distinguished career or extraordinary accomplishments as an architect.   The award is named in memory of Raleigh architect F. Carter Williams, FAIA.

Learn more

Firm Award

The AIA North Carolina Firm Award shall be awarded to a North Carolina firm that has consistently produced quality architecture with a verifiable level of client satisfaction for a period of at least 10 years as an established presence in this state.  This award is the highest honor the Chapter can bestow upon a firm.

Learn more

William H. DeitrickWilliam H. Deitrick Service Medal

The AIA North Carolina William H. Deitrick Service Medal will be presented to an AIA North Carolina member who exhibits extraordinary service to the community, profession or AIA North Carolina.  The medal is named in honor of the late William Henley Deitrick, FAIA, a former president of AIA North Carolina.

Learn More

Lindsey, GailGail A. Lindsey Sustainability Award

The AIA North Carolina Gail A. Lindsey Sustainability Award shall be awarded to a North Carolina individual or organization that has positively impacted the attainment of a sustainable and harmonious environment, espousing ideals pioneered by the late Gail Lindsey, FAIA.

Learn More

Legacy Award

The Legacy Award is given in recognition of an individual, group, corporation, institution, church or government entity’s, long standing commitment and contributions to architecture, for their support of the community of North Carolina architects and for their influence on North Carolina architecture. The award will be given from time to time as qualified candidates are brought to the attention of the North Carolina Awards Committee. No more than one award will be given annually and it will not be necessary that an award be given every year.

Learn more

Kamphoefner Prize

Established by Henry and Mabel Kamphoefner, the Kamphoefner Prize encourages individuals and firms to pursue the fundamental principles of the modern movement in architecture.  The $10,000 prize is awarded annually at the Summer Design Conference as funds permit.

Learn More