F. Carter Williams Gold Medal

F. Carter WilliamsAIA North Carolina

F. Carter Williams Gold Medal

This is the highest honor presented by the Chapter to a member of AIA North Carolina.  It is awarded to an individual in recognition of a distinguished career or extraordinary accomplishments as an architect.   The award is named in memory of Raleigh architect F. Carter Williams, FAIA.


A current or deceased member of AIA North Carolina whom the Board believes qualified is eligible to receive the Gold Medal.  No more than one such award shall be made in any year.  Individuals who are current members of the Chapter Board, one year removed from the Board, or members of the Chapter Awards Committee are ineligible for consideration.


Nominations for 2014 are now closed. Please check back in spring 2015 for new instructions.


All submissions must be made no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 11, 2014 In a 1”, 3-RING, HARDCOVER BINDER. 

Additionally, you must submit a digital copy of your information. Please scan all materials and create a single PDF file, burned to a CD, and placed in the binder. 

The submissions, not to exceed 20 8 ½” x 11” pages, should include the following information:

  1. A nomination letter that summarizes the contributions made by the individual
  2. A brief biography of the nominee
  3. Miscellaneous material (clippings, articles, etc.)
  4. Letters of support, not to exceed five, from AIA North Carolina members; letters should be explicit in their recommendation and contain specific reasons for support.

Previous Winners

1998 Lloyd G. Walter, Jr., FAIA Winston-Salem
1999 J. Hyatt Hammond, FAIA Greensboro
2000 Marley P. Carroll, FAIA Charlotte
2001 Herbert P. McKim, FAIA Wilmington
2002 Jeffrey Huberman, FAIA Charlotte
2003 Charles Boney, Sr., FAIA Wilmington
2004 S. Scott Ferebee, Jr., FAIA Charlotte
2005 John L. Atkins III, FAIA Triangle
2006 Macon S. Smith, FAIA Triangle
2007 Paul D. Boney, FAIA Wilmington
2008 Gail A. Lindsey, FAIA Wake Forest
2009 Jay Peterson, FAIA Wilmington
2010 Philip G. Freelon, FAIA Raleigh
2011 Marvin J. Malecha, FAIA Raleigh
2012 Steven D. Schuster, FAIA Raleigh
2013 Frank Harmon, FAIA Raleigh
2014 Edwin F. “Abie” Harris, Jr., FAIA