Legacy Award

AIA North Carolina
The Legacy Award

The Legacy Award is given in recognition of an individual, group, corporation, institution, church or government entity’s, long standing commitment and contributions to architecture, for their support of the community of North Carolina architects and for their influence on North Carolina architecture. The award will be given from time to time as qualified candidates are brought to the attention of the North Carolina Awards Committee. No more than one award will be given annually and it will not be necessary that an award be given every year.


Nominations for this award may be made by any member of AIA North Carolina, the AIA North Carolina Board, the Architectural Foundation Board or a member of the NC Chapter Awards Committee.

Nominations may be made by members, the public or by AIA North Carolina Sections. Nominations for 2014 are closed. Check back in the spring of 2015 for further instructions.


Nominations for the Legacy Award shall be limited to North Carolina individuals, groups, corporations, institutions, church or government entities that have demonstrated long standing commitments, made significant contributions or influenced the preservation of North Carolina’s built environment and its resources. Such groups or individuals shall demonstrate that they have, with purpose, influenced the advancement of architecture and/or raised the public’s awareness of the positive impact that architecture and planning can make on the perception and livability of North Carolina communities.

Submittal Requirements

  1. Name, biography or history of the nominated individual or institution
  2. Description and history of the project, social contributions, awards, etc.
  3. Names and brief description of architects employed in the performance of the work
    associated with the nomination.
  4. 3 letters of reference, at least two of which shall be from members of AIA North Carolina.

All submissions must be made no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 11, 2014 In a 1”, 3-RING, HARDCOVER BINDER.

Previous Winners

2010 The Biltmore Company Asheville
2011 Preservation North Carolina Raleigh
2012 No Recipient
2013 North Carolina Modernist Houses Raleigh
2014 Charlotte Center City Partners