AIA North Carolina Firm Award

AIA North Carolina

Firm Award

The AIA North Carolina Firm Award shall be awarded to a North Carolina firm that has consistently produced quality architecture with a verifiable level of client satisfaction for a period of at least 10 years as an established presence in this state.  This award is the highest honor the Chapter can bestow upon a firm.


North Carolina architectural firms practicing under the leadership of either a single AIA North Carolina member principal or several AIA North Carolina member principals are eligible for the Firm Award.  In addition, firms that have been reorganized and whose name has been changed or modified are also eligible, as long as the firm has been in operation in North Carolina for a period of at least 10 years.  Although firms that are headquartered in other states or firms that perform the majority of their work in other states or countries are eligible, the firm’s work and impact within the state of North Carolina shall be of primary consideration.  A firm owned or managed by the Chapter president, president-elect or members of the Awards committee shall not be eligible for consideration.


Nominations for 2014 are now closed. Please check back in spring 2015 for new instructions.


All submissions must be made no later than 5:00 p.m. on July 11, 2014 In a 1”, 3-RING, HARDCOVER BINDER. 

Additionally, you must submit a digital copy of your information. Please scan all materials and create a single PDF file, burned to a CD, and placed in the binder. 

The submissions, not to exceed 20 8 ½” x 11” pages, should include the following information:

  1. A nomination letter by a member, AIA North Carolina Section or a representative of the public, summarizing the firm’s  contributions in terms of design excellence and client satisfaction
  2. A brief biography of all firm principals and a history of the firm
  3. A firm brochure (if available)
  4. Descriptive statements and photographs of early, middle and recent work of the firm
  5. A maximum of five signed letters by clients, attesting to the firm’s excellence and/or high level of performance

Previous winners

1998 O’Brien/Atkins Associates     Research Triangle Park
1999 Walter Robbs Callahan Pierce Architects     Winston-Salem
2000 Lee Nichols Architecture     Charlotte
2001 The Freelon Group     Research Triangle Park
2002 Boney     Wilmington
2003 Dixon Weinstein Architects      Chapel Hill
2004 Pearce Brinkley Cease + Lee     Raleigh
2005 Freeman White     Charlotte
2006 Gant Huberman Architects     Charlotte
2007 Clearscapes     Raleigh
2008 Shook Kelley     Charlotte
2009 Cherry Huffman Architects, PA     Raleigh
2010 BJAC     Raleigh
2011 Mathews Architecture     Asheville
2012 Duda/Paine Architects     Durham
2013 Little     Charlotte
2014 Szostak Design, Inc.     Chapel Hill